h1

Sub-Basement 3 continued

11 October 2008

Door host (Chet?) who played Marcel, and "guest" Miroslav Grabornik

I’ve just added over three dozen more photos from my Adventurers Club archives to http://flickr.com/photos/truekkris including a few from the last night of original cast members Paula Pell, who played Pamelia Perkins, and Kerry Long as Millie the Maid.  

I had that evening off and, with management’s shrugging approval, visited the Club as an original character from Eastern Europe (Latvia or Lithuania or Estonia or some other -ia) named Miroslav Grabornik, who through the course of the evening fell in love with Pamelia.

At the end of Millie’s Sing-Along, I got up on the Library stage and proposed marriage in broken English, to which Pamelia exclaimed, “This is so sudden! I had no idea!” And then she whipped out a bridal veil from behind Fingers and stuck it on her head.

Pamelia asked Millie to be her personal maid, and Millie said okay, as long as she could bring along an old friend. At that point Marcel appeared. He had not been present at the Club for some time, if I recall correctly, but one of the door hosts who had played him previously—and whose name I shamefully admit to have forgotten (Chet?)—re-enacted the role.

We all exited through the Main Salon, up the stairs, and out onto the porch. Marcel and I gave piggyback rides to Millie and Pamelia, and down the street we went, all the way around Mannequins to disappear into the night. I missed Paula, Kerry and Marcel for the rest of my term at the Club.

Probably got a hundred more various pics still to be scanned and edited and uploaded. Don’t hold your breath.

3 comments

  1. Hi Kris, do you know if there are any good recordings of the “Drop Your Drawers” song from The Adventurers Club? All I can find on the internet is a low quality video on youtube.


  2. Yeah, I don’t think much of that video myself. I’ve been working on a home-brewed recording of the song as originally conceived, but I arrange and record songs much slower than I write them. It’ll be finished… eventually.


  3. Any idea where Kerry long is today? My family took me there every summer from 90 to 99 And we knew “millie” well. Would love to get In contact with her again!



Leave a Reply

